A change of focus

After doing a long period of research, I have decided to slightly change the focus of my topic. As the history of 3D printing is not long, there needs to another way to relate history with the technology of 3D design. In my previous post, I looked into the topic of restoring art by using 3D printing technology. As I have looked further, I have discovered that this is a growing trend because of the lower cost and shorter time. Therefore, I have decided to look into how 3D technology can restore the past, and innovate the future. This topic includes the history aspect of 3D printing, and also looks into the design trend towards the near future.


 

To continue with art restoration with 3D printing, I have found more examples that were quite impressive.  At the moment, the refugee situation and the invasion of ISIS is something that affects our lives in some certain way. Apart from the lives in danger and WWIII conspiracies coming along, I was extremely baffled with the monuments being destroyed. It not only destroyed years of art and culture, it also erased the identities of the nation. I don’t know if you have read the book ‘In the name of Identity’ by Amin Maalouf, but reading all the news on this situation just made me think of that book.  Identity itself as an ideology had always been in the back of my head, as I struggled to identify myself as what I am and what am I suppose to be. So when people ask me why I even bother about artifacts and ruins that had already been gone, that it is just art and not as important as saving lives. I’d simply tell them that without an identity, staying in a world that you don’t belong in, is hardly living at all. Not everyone can save lives, but we can, in our given power, change the world in a way we deem purposeful. That is why, I have such a passion in restoration of art, for the purpose of giving back people their identity.

 

Archeaologists from Oxford and Harvard universities have been developing a ‘Million Image Database Project’, in hope to preserve Syrian ruins by using 3D printing technology. They plan to have at least 5000 3D cameras out on the field by January 2016, capturing photos of at-risk ruins and create a data base. A GPS function will allow a public contribution. In the future, they can 3D print more accurate models for education and other purposes.

Here is a video introducing the city of Palmyra, take a look at the ruins before it was occupied by the ISIS.

 

Source:

http://sputniknews.com/middleeast/20150902/1026494356/Middle-East-ruins-digital-preservation.html

Leave a Reply

